EMERGE Consortium

8 university leaders confirm their commitment to the EMERGE ConsortiumIn November 2021, the European Commission launched the third round of calls for projects for “European University Initiatives” (EUI) financed by Erasmus+ and designed to enhance competitiveness of European universities through the development of transnational cooperation.

The European Margins Engaging for Regional and Global Empowerment (EMERGE) Consortium gathers 8 universities all situated on the periphery of Europe. Its core aim is to develop flexible and innovative approaches to knowledge co-creation and human capital through the cooperation of its members:

  • University Limerick (Ireland)
  • Université Rennes 2
  • Université Bretagne Sud
  • European University Flensburg (Germany)
  • Inland Norway University of Applied Science (Norway)
  • Matej Bel University (Slovakia)
  • Universidad de Burgos (Spain)
  • Neapolis University Pafos (Cyprus)



EMERGE alliance university members seek to better face challenges through the strengthening of local and community partnerships as well as the effective sharing of knowledge and resources between one another. The EMERGE alliance has the strategy to ultimately form a European campus within which transnational cooperation will apply to teaching, long life learning, research, innovation, thus encouraging student, teachers and staff mobility.


On 2nd March 2022, the EMERGE alliance university presidents, gathered at the Irish Embassy in Brussels, have signed a memorandum of understanding, re-affirming their commitment to the mission and vision of the EMERGE project.

The signing signaled the official announcement of the alliance intent to apply for a European Universities Initiative (EUI) project under the 22nd March deadline.