Governance & Strategy

Governance & StrategyUniversité Bretagne Sud is a public institution of scientific, cultural and professional nature. Since 2012, it has been led by the president, Jean Peeters.

The Presidency

Jean Peeters, President of Université Bretagne Sud
Jean Peeters has been president of Université Bretagne Sud since March 2012. Re-elected in March 2016, this professor of English and Anglo-Saxon language and literature universities and holder of a Ph.D. in general linguistics, has joined Université Bretagne Sud in 1996. From 2005 to 2010, he will be vice-president of the university, in charge of international relations.
His research focuses on translation studies, on the social registration of translations. He is the author of more than thirty publications, including four books. He is also Vice-President of the Committee on International and European Relations within the Conference of University Presidents (CPU), Co-Chair of the Franco-Quebec Council for University Cooperation (CFQCU) since 2013 and member of the Board's Bureau. of the University Agency of La Francophonie (AUF) since 2016.
He is also a volunteer and active member of the Festival interceltique de Lorient since 1983
See the Twitter account of the President

Statutory Vice-Presidents


Virginie DUPONT, Vice-President of the Board of Directors
Virginie Dupont, has been Vice-Chairman of the UBS Board of Directors, responsible for Finance, Human Resources and Heritage since 2012.
As a lecturer-researcher in chemistry, his research in the Biotechnology and Marine Chemistry laboratory has focused for the past decade on the analysis of seawater and sediments. She held numerous teaching and administrative responsibilities at  Université Bretagne Sud, including that of Dean of the Faculty of Sciences and Engineering Sciences from 2008 to 2012.

Guy GOGNIAT, Vice President Research
University professor in electronics at Université Bretagne Sud since 2009, his research work focuses on the security of electronic components. He is particularly interested in the protection of data and applications in these circuits. He is assistant director of the Laboratory of Science and Techniques of Information, Communication and Knowledge (Lab-STICC) CNRS UMR6285 since 2010. He was in charge of the Master of Sciences & Technologies of Information and Communication up to in 2014, and currently co-hosts the R & D program of the Joint Cyber Crisis Management Center installed on the UBS Campus in Vannes. Guy Gogniat was elected Vice President Research in 2016.


Xavier TRIPOTEAU, Vice President Education and University Life

Associate professor in economics and management, he has taught at the IUT Vannes since 1999. He has held many teaching positions within this institution: director of studies, responsible for the learning of accounting degrees and Financial, Director of the Business and Administration Management Department. In addition to his academic career, he is also a municipal councilor in the commune of Theix-Noyalo, a community advisor within Vannes Agglo and President of BGE Morbihan, a support network for entrepreneurs. Since 2014, he has been elected vice-president in charge of UBS's training policy and academic life.


Vice Presidents

Damien SURGET, Vice President Culture, Campus Life and Documentary Policy









Christine Chauvin Blottiaux, Vice President International Relations









Gilles Bedoux, Vice-President, Pedagogical Innovation and Digital










Gaël Morel, Vice President Lifelong Learning









Student Vice Presidents


Juliette SÉMÉNADISSE, Student Vice-President - Campus Vannes

semenadisse.e1700505 @ 







Alessio BARAZER-RITTORE, student vice-president - Campus Lorient-Pontivy
barazer-rittore.e1508982 @ 








Mission Managers



Sylvie PIMBERT, Project Manager "Student Entrepreneurship"
sylvie.pimbert @








Nathalie Bourgougnon, in charge of the mission "Equality between men and women and fight against all discriminations"







Philippe LE MASSON, Director of the UBS Ph.D.
philippe.le-masson @







Chief of Staff of the Presidency


Christophe LE HEN
02 97 87 66 10  (christophe.le-hen @ univ-ubs.frÂ)

Secretariat : 02 97 87 66 10
president @